mono

About 12 years has gone by since I involuntarily ended my -first wave- of being into biking. Getting back into it, I have noticed a lot of interesting changes and evolution. One of the new developments is the advent and rise in popularity of the  single speed mountain bike. Reading about them, I have found that people are using gear ratios that are easier to pedal than a bmx bike. I’m intriqued and I’d love to try one. I guess the single speed is to the MTB crowd what the fixie is to the intown bike folks. Heres an example:

Surly singlespeed

Another on the rise trend are 29″ wheel bikes.  The logic there is that a larger wheel will travel over obstacles smoother. There is a great article in the last issue of DIRT RAG about the origin and development of the 29er.

Leave a Reply

