top tube pad sewing funtime business

Okay folks, I am gonna try to make one of these…

top tube pads for my bike. The one you see here is a super deluxe mass produced hemp cloth dealie which retails for around 18$ + shipping. I think I can beat the price, plus have some fun and learn a little bit about fabric related arty farty biz.
So far the project has entailed a journey underneath my house, where my dad said he had some extra pipe insulation sitting around. Underneath the house is a little sketchy + spooky. I found the piece he was thinking about, but it wasn’t long enough, so I’m off to the Depot for Homes, or maybe Lowes to see if I can snag a some.
Some well to do hipsters have already created their own little fixie pad factory operation, which you can check out here, but I’m not taking the easy way out and ordering from them, What fun woud that be? DIY baby!

Tagged ,

8 thoughts on “top tube pad sewing funtime business

  1. brkeyes7 says:

    Bro, what is with all those top tube pads I’ve been seeing everywhere lately? I don’t get it. Is it just a fashion statement? or do they serve a purpose?

    • PRfix says:

      well it does serve a purpose. i life on a third floor and i’m constantly going up and down stairs with my bike. the pad makes a significant difference on your shoulder, believe me. you can also sit on the pad after a long ride if u want a quick rest.

  2. robertashton says:

    I think people stated using them as a way to prevent the top tube from getting dented if they leaned the bike up against a pole. I imagine some of the messengers throw their bikes around a bit if the are in a hurry, and denting the top tube of an expensive frame set would suck.
    I’ll be honest though, I am doing it mainly as a way to add a little more color to the bike. I’m no messenger and this bike is by no means expensive.
    Plus it’ll be fun to make.

  3. Rich says:

    I ride a fixie…and this pad could actually serve a purpose.
    I reckon it would help with skids and locking up to do so.
    As far as protecting your paint…get a life.

  4. Clay says:

    Could also help if youre in an accident. Comign down on that bar hurts a bit…

  5. rachel says:

    in my house, my roommates and i have huge hooks on the walls to hang our bikes from the top tube and between the hooks, bike racks and wherever else to lock up, top tube covers save a lot of paint/dent damage to the frame. and as far as accidents- girls hit top tubes hard too sometimes, especially on fixed gears and the covers definitly serve a few different purposes. lastly- they look pretty cool. save your genitals

  6. e says:

    it’s not shameful to want to save your paint job. dude, paint jobs are expensive and if you do a lot of city riding you will definately scratch up your bike. then as folks mentioned there are all the other benifits.

  7. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

Leave a Reply

