return to off road

Ugh, enough of this fixie stuff…time for some trail riding!

Loaded up the ‘Goose and headed out for good ol Gainesville College Trail today. The ride went well, although the ground was more wet and soft than I thought it would be. Had two nonsense dabs that kind of made me mad…one was from a root that hooked my back tire and pulled the rear of the bike out sideways, the other was the result of “not shifting to an easier gear ahead of time even though I knew a section was coming up where I’d have to”. Neither episode resulted in a fall, but the root related one would have if I’d have been using clipless pedals. I kind of want to run clipless pedals on the mountain bike again, but then again I don’t. I’m not going to, because I know that a big part of the reason I want to has to do with the -look- you get from the “technicolor rainbow lycra/race an entire 12hour solo” crowd when you come across them on the trail and you aren’t running clipless. Those guys always try to hide it when they give you the gas face, but it doesn’t work. Anyway, who cares what those guys think? If I cared what other people thought about what I was running, I would have never made those top tube pads for my fixed because bikesnobNYC does not approve.

Back to the ride, I did GCT once in each direction. Lonely ol Bob, out on the trail by myself again. Man I wish I had someone to ride with. Someone who wasn’t so fast that I am holding them up all the time, but not so slow that they are holding me up. Actually, lets alter that last statement. I wish I was fast enough to ride with some of the folks I see out on the trails. I see all kinds of organized rides that I wish I could do, but never follow through because I don’t want to be -that guy-. Oh well.

The second lap of GCT went much better than I thought it would. I am having trouble with my “get up and go” lately. Maybe its the cold, maybe I am just bored of riding alone, I dunno. But something happened on lap 2 that felt really good. It couldn’t be that energy packet I used. It wasn’t a gel, it was some liquid orange stuff that was pure sugar. Seriously, the ingredients were like 3different kinds of sugar and water. Isn’t that just glorified Kool-Aid? Well, I drank the thing with the skeptisim, but -something- happened during that second lap. Hmmmm…

After the 2 laps at GCT, I decided to head over to Chicopee and ride my little super reduced route just for kicks. The super reduced route turns out to be just over 1 mile, and since I am never far from the car, I tend to do it a bit faster than when I am doing the full loop. The super reduced loop is great for trying out different set-ups on the bike also, because it has enough turns, climbs and roots to make it real, but I won’t ever be stuck waaaay back in the woods with a set up that just isn’t working. I ended up doing the reduced loop twice, at which point it was starting to get COLD due to the sun getting low in the sky. I decided to wrap it up for the day, having reached a solid 10 miles (8.2mph avg) for my outing.

I’m glad I went!

Tagged ,

One thought on “return to off road

  1. vicp says:

    Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab. After the accident I found out about two other cyclists who suffered hip fractures because they couldn’t release from their pedals.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

Leave a Reply

