weight savings cost analysis pt1

I’d love to shave a pound or two off my Mongoose. The other day I had taken the pedals off and put them on Ye Ol Talera for use while scooting around Road Atlanta and noticed something interesting about them. The shafts are two different lengths! I was able to tell because the 15mm wrench I used to get the drive side off was too fat for the non-drive side. Luckily I had a thinner wrench on hand. Once I got them off, I set them on a table upright, and sure enough, the non-drive side was about 2mm shorter than the drive side. Red flags went up regarding the interruption of my bikes feng shui in the Q-factor area. Of course, it doesn’t REALLY matter, but it will bug me from here on out. I’m into balance, and a mismatched asymmetrical set up that wasn’t done ON PURPOSE will cause havoc on my mental state when I am deep into a lengthy ride and want to give up. I can hear myself now…“Oh I would have made it the rest of that climb but you know, MY PEDAL SHAFTS ARE TWO DIFFERENT LENGTHS so I pooped out”. Ugh, yeah right.

But anyway, since I did have the pedals off the bike, and since the new Jenson catamaloggy has some nifty pricing on pedals, I figured I would see if they were a good place to start the cost analysis for my bikes diet plan. So I fired up the Ohaus analog scale

There are 453.592 grams in a lb.

My stock platform pedals weigh in at 592.3 grams. They are pretty heavy, but not THAT heavy. They are tankers compared to clipless, but they are lighter than the Crank Bros 50/50 X pedals(618g). Azonic Fusion platforms are 480g, and quite a bit cheaper.

I have a pair of Ritchey clipless that weigh in at 350.5 grams.

Wow I didn’t think there would be that much a difference, but I am really suprised how close the old Ritcheys are to the 308g Candy C. Even more than that, I am suprised I can walk out to the shed and shave 8.5 ounces off the weight of the bike right now just by going (back) to clipless. That would be halfway to my 1lb or better goal without spending a dime. But do I want to go back to clipless? Heh, why not. I’ll dial in to them pretty quickly, but I would like to pair up re-installing them with another 8 ounces of weight savings, so I may not make the leap yet.

I’d LOVE to be able to tell what my handlebars weigh without having to remove them from the bike.

Tagged

One thought on “weight savings cost analysis pt1

  1. vicp says:

    Warning!!!
    Clipless pedals are very dangerous.
    I’ve been riding bicycles continuously since I was 5. Have even commuted to work year-round in suburb north of NYC, Had been using Shimno clipless pedals for about 10 years and had several occasions when I couldn’t release from the pedal and dumped over. The last time, at age 58, caused my right hip to fracture. I needed 2 surgeries and 6 months of rehab.
    Needless to say I took them off my Trek and will never use them again.
    The Pain was not worth the gain.

Leave a Reply

