Positively False

Okay so I finished reading the Floyd Landis book. It was an interesting read or someone like me who knows very little about the road bike racing scene. Maybe it was made more interesting because I read “Inside the Tour De France” at the same time, which was a collection of single page anecdotes about the history of the race. Between the two books I feel like I learned a ot about race strategy, what goes on behind the scenes, and tour traditions that someone might not pick up on if they follow the Versus coverage casually.

As far as the doping part of Floyds book…well, who knows if he was telling the truth or not. No one will know but him I guess. I do think that whether or not he was truthful, in the process of defending himself him and his team of legal/science folks found a bunch of legitimate flaws in the whole doping test system, and brought to light a bunch of unsavory things about the UCI. Fookin drama man…whew.

I guess the next books will be some Lance stuff. I overheard some heavy hitter bike people I know talking about how they thought Lance is really guilty of doping, which suprised me. Personally I don’t know what to think.

There is an entire book at my local library on JUST the doping scandals that have happened over the past decade or so in bike racing, but I don’t think I want to read it. I want these guys to be my heroes and knowing too much might ruin it. I mean, I don’t think that every rider rode out of whatever trick they were doing in every picture of the BMX magazines I used toi inhale as a kid, but looking at the pics still psyched me up. Not exactly the same difference but then again, it kinda sorta is.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

