Forsyth Big Creek

Friday the weather was unusually great for January in Georgia, so I headed out to a trail I had not yet ridden, which my boss told me about. It is the Forsyth section of the Big Creek paved/board multi-use trail, which has a length of 6.8miles. Eventually this trail will connect with the more southernly section of Big Creek trail, which I have not ridden, but have seen when riding Big Crek mountain bike trails. When the whole trail system connects it is going to be absolutely wicked.

The Forsyth section trailhead I started at is just off McFarland Rd / and 400, east of the exit about half a mile. There are no signs, just a gravel parking lot. The trail is about 1/2 paved and 1/2 elevated board walk with two road crossings and several bridges. There are no climbs but the grade does change enough to keep you pedalling most of the way in both directions.

Photobucket

I loved this path so much I did it twice in a row out and back, which came up to about 27.5miles. This path is going to be absolutely stunning when spring comes. One thing I did notice though, was that there seemed to be a lot of path newbies who did not know to keep to the right when they heard a bike bell.

In other news, I had considered getting a KNOG N.E.R.D bike computer, but now I am rethinking that strategy due to seeing some negative reviews going around.

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

