Critical Mass Halloween Atlanta…a few pics

Wow, I drastically underestimated the turnout for this thing. Thats what happens when you live so far away from the city I guess. This little clip of the mass crossing Moreland doesn’t even show the whole group. I hope homeboy found his wife lol (42secs)…

Since I lost my camera in a “party mishap” earlier this year, all i had to grab snaps with was the iPhone, so the quality isn’t very good on these pics, but you can get an idea of how everyone was in the halloween spirit for the ride.

bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
I couldn’t tell if this guy was running the full Rock Racing kit as a costume or if this is his normal riding gear.
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
AYHSMB southeast remix
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
Probably the best “in theme of the event” costume I saw…
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
There was a whole gang of smart phone icons…Angry Birds! Wish I could have gotten a pic of the whole group together…
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
Probably my fave costume was E.T and Elliot. Great job on the E.T. sculpture/model…the only way it could have been better were if she would been riding the actual Kuwahara E.T. BMX bike.
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass
Photobucket
bicycle,atlanta,critical mass

The ride was a blast, although I ran out of beer waaaay too early. Next year I’ll rig up some sort of way to bring more suds. One thing I thought was pretty rad was when the mass got out onto Moreland in East Atlanta and cruised up to Little Five Points. Since I don’t get to come to many of these events I have never been to one where such a long stretch of such a major road was infiltrated. I had some other things to do that night, so when we got to L5P I dropped off so I could ride back to Kirkwood since I had parked there, but the ride kept trucking along headed up towards Ponce and who knows where else. While I was riding away in the opposite direction I could hear all the ruckus from the crowd and the car horns from quite a distance away. I hope it went long and everyone had a great time.

If you only do one CM a year, Halloween is the one to do for sure.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

One thought on “Critical Mass Halloween Atlanta…a few pics

  1. Ray Keener says:

    Ha, ha, isn’t this fun. Sure, if you don’t mind un-doing the progress we’re making nationwide getting respect and funding from mainstream America. If you want to get drunk and disrupt traffic, why not do it on foot? Set back the pedestrian movement instead of cycling?

Leave a Reply

