Cherokee Bluffs Park to get Mountain Bike Trail.

Cherokee Bluffs Park is a 200 acre park here in Flowery Branch, Georgia which is currently in development.  Yesterday it was announced that the park would definitely be getting a mountain bike trail. From the article in the Gainesville Times:

“The approved plan allows IMBA to conceptualize the trail system, flag the pathway and train county workers to properly construct mountain biking trails. The cost of the project will be $16,729, of which $5,000 will be paid for by IMBA with the remaining amount provided by the county through the special purpose local options sales tax and impact fees.”

“One of the things we’re really excited about is that this trail would include some riding on exposed rock surfaces, which is unusual for trails in Georgia,” he said, “and it is not going to be backcountry riding in the wilderness either.
“It’s going to be an urban, neighborhood interface.”

I think what he means by the “Urban Neighborhood Interface” part is that the local McMansion burbclave called “Sterling on the Lake” butts practically right up against the park, but I’d hardly call it urban.  Much of the exposed rock in the park is less than a mile from civilization though, so I am thinking that his remark may mean that you wouldn’t expect to encounter such a feature so close to the road, houses, etc.

You can view a preview tour of Cherokee Bluffs Park here.

BONUS LEVEL: I live less than 2 miles from the park. I can easily ride TO the trails right from my hut.

DOWNSIDE: Not looking forward to all the mid life crisis crew from Sterling that will no doubt clog up the trails with $6000 carbon dream machines and technicolor kit covered with sponsors they aren’t actually sponsored by. As a low budget soul rider I just can’t help but feel the scorn directed my way when these guys pass me on my hoopty  of a mountain bike.  I hope we can all get along.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Cherokee Bluffs Park to get Mountain Bike Trail.

  1. john1323 says:

    I live in Braselton, was up at the park today to see what progress has been made. Any word on the MTB trails?

    • robertashton says:

      I’ve seen some trails winding through the woods and a wooden bridge but I do not know if they are the biking trails or walking trails. I haven’t been exploring in the park lately because I had heard they were cracking down on trespassers.

Leave a Reply

